Tuesday, June 12, 2012

The Newest Country on Earth

Republic Of Palau : Flag of Palau. Close Up.
Photo of Republic of Palau flag courtesy 123rf.com

The Republic of Palau became the newest country on Earth in 1994, when it declared its independence and became a republic in free association with the United States.  It is composed of six main islands and about 250 smaller islands located in the Pacific Ocean.  People first came to the islands about 3,000 years ago.  For more information click here and click here.  What did you learn today?

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed for appropriate content, then appropriate comments are posted within 36 hours or less.